Sydney is my city

 Sydney is My City

When someone comes to visit me, the first place I take them is Bondi Beach. Not necessarily Sydney’s most beautiful beach but it’s a Sydney icon and only 10kms from the city centre and 5 minutes walk from home.

Spring is the best time to visit my city because the weather is sunny and cool, the water of the ocean and harbour is aqua blue and the crowds are gone.

Bronte Beach, Springtime

You can see my city best from Dudley Page Reserve. You get the best view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge in Sydney, bar none.

Locals know to skip Darling Harbour and check out Chinatown instead.

The Rocks markets are the place to buy authentic, local souvenirs.

In the past, notable people like author Patrick White, actor Hugh Jackman, and painter Brett Whitely have called my city home.

My city’s best museum is the National Maritime Museum because it hosts world class exhibitions and demonstrates how closely we are all connected to the sea, past and present.

If there’s one thing you should know about getting around my city, it’s to be patient, the traffic can be terrible.

The best place to spend time outdoors in my city is one of its many beautiful beaches.

My city really knows how to celebrate Chinese New Year because we recognise and value our multicultural society. Food, parades, art and music.

You can tell if someone is from my city if they start talking about where you can get the best coffee.

For a fancy night out, I head for champagne at the Blu Bar on 36 at the Sydney Shangri La Hotel. The view is incredible.

Just outside my city, you can visit the Royal National Park, the oldest national park in Australia.

My city is known for being brassy and bold, but it’s really pretty friendly and chilled.

The best outdoor market in my city is Rozelle markets.

The Bogey Hole Cafe at Bronte is my favorite place to grab breakfast, and a pie and peas at Harry’s Cafe de Wheels  is the spot for late-night eats.

To find out what’s going on at night and on the weekends, read Time Out Sydney.

My city’s biggest sports event is the City to Surf in August each year, a 14km walk or run. Don’t watch it, run it!.

When I’m feeling cash-strapped, I walk along the Bondi to Bronte coastal walk and try to spot whales and dolphins.

To escape the crowds, I get up early.

If my city were a celebrity it’d be a sports person because Sydneysiders love to watch and play sport.

The dish that represents my city best is a bowl of Vietnamese Pho. A cold, crisp (Australian, naturally) white wine is my city’s signature drink.

The Sydney Town Hall is my favorite building in town because it’s recently been restored, it’s smack in the middle of the city, and it’s a great meeting spot.

The most random thing about my city is the gorgeous ocean pools. My favourite is the Bondi Icebergs.

Icebergs ocean pool, Bondi

Icebergs ocean pool, Bondi

The Basement is the best place to see live music, but if you’re in the mood to dance, check out the ivy.

Snorkelling with blue groper fish could only happen in my city. The underwater life is amazing.

In the spring you should catch the Manly ferry from Circular Quay or visit Sculpture by the Sea.

Visitors at Sculpture by the Sea

Visitors at Sculpture by the Sea

In the summer you should visit Bungan Beach, Sydney’s best kept secret.

In the fall you should visit the Royal Easter Show. It’s a Sydney institution. Find out about Australia’s important agricultural industries, pat a pig or watch wood chopping demonstrations.

In the winter you should check out Vivid Sydney when Sydney is lit up at night with light installations and projections.

Vivid, Sydney

Vivid, Sydney

If you have kids (or are a kid at heart), you won’t want to miss a bike ride around Centennial Park.

The best book about my city is Aboriginal Sydney. Sydney was inhabited by Indigenous Australians for thousands of years before white settlement.

When I think about my city, the song that comes to mind is Home Among the Gumtrees.

This post is my submission to National Geographic Travel’s Intelligent Travel – Beyond the Guidebook What’s your city??

beyond_the_guidebook.png

19 thoughts on “Sydney is my city

  1. Love the post!!! So much great information. As a swimmer, I am envious of that lap pool. I can only imagine how great swimming lanes there must be!

    • Thanks. Swimming in the salt water with a view of Bondi is certainly special. They also have a sauna with views over the beach so that you can warm up if you are brave enough to swim through Winter.

  2. Lakshmi Loves To Shop says:

    Well done…what a fabbo post. Will your article be in the National Geo now? Wow that is very exciting!! Your home, Sydney, is a divine place 🙂

  3. What a lot of variety. There is so much to do, you could never get bored, unless it’s just too hard to make a decision! This give me an idea of what to write about our little city. 🙂

Leave a Reply

