Sydney Harbour Bridge

 

 

 

 

20130224-155141.jpg

The other day I was killing time in Sydney while my daughter was at an audition so I took a stroll around the foreshore of Sydney Harbour. I took this snap because I hadn’t ever seen Sydney Harbour Bridge from this angle. Sydneysiders have fondly nicknamed the Bridge “the coathanger”.  The Bridge was also known as the ‘Iron Lung” because it took 9 years to build and was one of Australia’s largest employment projects at that time. It was opened in 1932 as Sydney moved forward after the depression.

This is my response to Ailsa’s weekly travel theme: Bridges and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward

 

25 thoughts on “Sydney Harbour Bridge

  1. Lakshmi Loves To Shop says:

    I love all the wonderful grey tones you captured with this shot ~ in the railing, water and the bridge itself. Sydney is so beautiful even on a grey day 🙂

Leave a Reply

