Top 5 books I’ve read this year

1. We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo

This has replaced The Poisonwood Bible as my all time favourite book. The novel is narrated through the eyes of 11 year-old Darling, a Zimbabwean child who lives in grinding poverty. We see the world through her eyes, first as a child living in Zimbabwe and then as a teenager experiencing life as an illegal immigrant living with her Aunt in America. It is funny and grim and raw and enlightening.

2. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Nick and Amy are seemingly a perfect couple. Then on their fifth wedding anniversary Amy disappears. As the book progresses we discover that all was not well with the marriage and the mystery of Amy’s disappearance deepens. Without giving anything away there are some surprising twists and turns.

3. The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

The Language of Flowers book cover

A novel about Victoria, a troubled young woman who has grown up in the foster system. Her story is intertwined with her gift  for understanding the meaning and language of flowers.  Beautiful and gripping.

“I’m talking about the language of flowers,” Elizabeth said. “It’s from the Victorian era, like your name. If a man gave a young lady a bouquet of flowers, she would race home and try to decode it like a secret message. Red roses mean love; yellow roses infidelity. So a man would have to choose his flowers carefully.”

4. Game of Thrones series by George R. R. Martin

You are either into this kind of fiction or you’re not. My family had to get used to me being absent until I had waded through all the books in the series so far. Total escapism.

5. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

The tragic tale of the beautiful and unhappily married Anna and her affair with the dashing Count Vronsky.

This novel was first published in Russia in 1873 yet it’s themes of morality, love and family still resonate tonday. It “explores and illuminates the deepest questions about how to live a fulfilled life.” from Goodreads.

12 thoughts on “Top 5 books I’ve read this year

  1. I have read two off your list with my book club, Gone Girl and Language of Flowers. We Need New Names looks great…I adored the Poisonwood Bible so will look for this one too. Sorry I haven’t commented for ages :-( it has been the fault of “December madness” causing me little time for blogging. Thinking of you ~ Lakshmi x

    • Thanks Lakshmi. Don’t worry I have really dropped the ball myself lately when it comes to the blog and fellow bloggers. I think it will be something that comes and goes so I’m not going to get too stressed about it or it will take the pleasure out of it altogether. Hope you have a lovely holiday season. xxS

  2. Sue Ann, thanks for the quick reviews. We definitely love the same types of books! Poison wood Bible and Anna Karenina were two of my all time favorites. The rest I look forward to reading. Have a wonderful holiday season. God bless.

  3. Thanks for the suggestions. I will definitely check out #1 and 3. Have already read 2 and 5 but they are excellent suggestions. If you like Gone Girl I read another book by the same author called Sharp Objects. It was a great, quick read.

      • If you like books about Africa here are a few I highly recommend: 20 Chickens for a Saddle a story about growing up in Botswana … makes me wish I would have grown up in Botswana, Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight by Alexandra Fuller. Also a story about a childhood in Africa although much different equally great. #1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith set in Botswana. There is a whole series to this book and all really good. Great summer fun book that brings Botswana to life. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

